Bearing up

More back-blipping, but at least I did take these shots on the right day :-)

I met with a few people from the local project I'm volunteering with this summer, taking more pictures of sculptures in Sheffield. The intended end-product is a new phone app to support things like local sculpture trails.  Partly the meeting was to talk over how our uploading has been going from a technical point of view and partly it was to take a short walk together and look at some pieces of work in the Heeley area. This is the neighbourhood I lived in from 1979 until 1998, and also where Josh, Ruth and the boys now live. So I know it well.

Despite that, I hadn't noticed this bench before, and it really made me smile. The extra shows a fuller view. Usually I'm pretty antisocial about photography and am happiest when out on my own with the camera, free to get blissfully lost in the process. But in fact the morning was thoroughly enjoyable, and got us sharing ideas about how the app might develop in the future, perhaps with wider community participation.

The project is led by Wessex Archaeology, working in collaboration with Sheffield Visual Arts Group. More info about Wessex Archaeology here, they're an interesting organisation:

https://www.wessexarch.co.uk/about

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.