curns' corner

By curns

Tool

The main event of the day was a trip to the O2 to see Tool, an American rock band originally from Los Angeles. They formed in 1990 and have been going ever since - which is a pretty decent run. This is not normally my kind of music but a former colleague from the US was in London with his family and had a spare ticket. And that’s how I found myself at a rock gig with Doug and his son-in-law on a Tuesday evening. 

I always feel that music - a bit like sport - is better experienced in person which is why, I think, that I really enjoyed myself in spite of my lack of familiarity of what was coming out of the speakers. Doug had to keep pointing out which were the ‘big’ songs and which were more fan favourites.  What I found particularly surprising was the friendly, easy-going atmosphere of the crowd which is, a little bit, at odds with the music. It was great.

Afterwards, we managed to find a bar that was open until 1am and we also beat the majority of other people who had a similar idea. As a result we grabbed some seats outside and were able to spend time catching up on wha’s been happening for the many years since we’ve last seen each other. I’m really glad that I took the opportunity to do something a bit different.  The Uber home at £30 was surprisingly cheaper than many I get from much closer to home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.