Rodents rule

By squirk

Underside

A Jersey tiger moth has been flitting around the garden all week. I disturb it when I water the plants – poor thing, being ambushed with an unexpected shower. This evening, it was resting on the kitchen door and I got a peek at his spotty undies.

A much more pleasant day to be out and about. We walked to Streatham Rookery and I headed off to my favourite baguette shop – Tour de France (nom!), then walked down Streatham High Road to find a refill shop. The one in West Norwood has closed due to the building being redeveloped and she can't afford the rent of other shops. As I've got into the habit of refilling, I don't want to return to buying plastic packets again. Happily, Healthier Without had what I needed (shampoo and surface cleaner) and seems to have what I usually fill up on. The manager said that what they sell is depending on what customers want so if there's something I need, she'll try and find it for me. The start of a good relationship – we had a good chat, too. I'll be back.

A bonus for going to Streatham is that the charity shops are great. I found a lovely cardigan as good as new and a T-shirt in a lovely bottle green. I also visited the fish shop. Streatham shopping might be pricey if I do this every trip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.