Pepsidoodles

By Pepsidoodles

Nooooo

So annoyed with myself. I decided to take down a couple of large overhanging Buddleia without checking for nests. I pulled down 2 branches and attached was this very small nest with feathers. Very beautifully constructed.

First thought was aww until I looked in and saw 6 baby chicks and then panicked. I contacted a rescue centre who advised to put them in the same position as they were or bring them in.

My husband and I decided to put the nest as high as we could in the tree for the parents. We did not disturb the nest as it was very secure on the branches. We gently cut the branch and secured it to another branch in the tree.

Been checking them all day and watered the garden for grubs for feeding time. It has been windy with a little rain and they are still safe.

I will check them again tomorrow in hope the parents have found and fed the 6 chicks. I do hope they will all survive as they are so tiny. After Googling we have discovered by the nest they are house sparrow chicks.

What a day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.