A Dragonfly Sort of Day

Haha but my main is a hydrangea! I couldn't help it...it is so lovely! I saw at least three species of skimmers in the garden this afternoon...two in the extras: Common Whitetail (the black and brown one) and an Eight Spotted Skimmer (the one with blue). I also saw a Flame Skimmer but she didn't sit still even for a second. I was in the garden with my camera and stooped to pull some weeds. As I stood up, the Eight Spotted Skimmer was about 2 feet in front of me on the stake...shocked, I took its portrait before it got spooked.

My son and the grandkids came over this morning and we went off to a marvelous master garden event at their local demonstration garden. It's very close to me, and the community college that I used to teach at. I hadn't seen it since 2019, it's 2nd year in existence, because I was teaching remotely. It's grown so much and really looks marvelous. The kids had great fun - they did a spider scavenger hunt, made a tootsie-roll-pop spider  (sorry no pics of that!), hunted for worms and all sorts of other lovely nature sorts of things. Then we found an air conditioner for my son's apartment since we're going into a week-long heat wave. It's being delivered tomorrow, thank goodness. And today was absolutely gorgeous...not a speck of heat to be felt. Just beautiful skies, perfect temps and a nice breeze. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.