Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Another hot day

Last night we enjoyed drinks with our neighbours - poor M is on constant oxygen due to the progression of his lung fibrosis, and he can no longer come here in winter so we have not seen him for a while. We had lovely Swiss nibbles and bubbles.

This morning Gavin was up early to do a long run as part of his marathon training, he ran 22km up and down the valley. He was joined by a friend who is a strong runner so they kept each other going. I did some stretching and gym exercises as my leg muscles are still sore and it did help. 

After Gavin got back we went for a hike. It was another hot and sunny day, about 26C so we got the gondola half way up the mountain and walked through the trees back to the village. This is a view of the glacier that I took on the way down. I have included an extra of the train, as I waited about 25 minutes in the hot sun for the train to appear, so I had to include it too!

I found my journal that I kept over the summers, when I used to record the hikes we did, recording the details of distance, time taken and elevation. We  have been coming here for 17 summers now and I have a record of a hikes I did with the boys when they were little - Tommy was only 4 years old when we started - we were out the house early and up the mountain on the gondola by 8.30am! We spent many weeks here in the summers, Gavin would be in London working and come out for alternate weeks. The boys were active and busy all day, hiking long distances  - they certainly were not raised as snowflakes! 

Gavin has now gone over the road to the golf club to the driving range (as he does every day) as tomorrow he has been invited to play in a golf tournament at the golf club. It was a tournament arranged by the local council and they invited many non permanent residents.

Luke and Meriel arrive tomorrow afternoon, Tommy and Inca arrive very late tomorrow night and Adam comes later in the week (Pip unfortunately cannot come due to work) - so this will be a busier week with all the meal planning and prep.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.