Bonnie and Clyde? Or Bogie and Bacall?

One of my favorite things to do on the hot summer nights is - while wearing as few clothes as possible - go and sit in a chair by the deck, and eat cold cherry jello, while watching the hummingbirds. It is a simple pleasure, to be sure. When I feel like it, I take pictures of the birds (the monopod is a great help with this endeavor). But mostly, I just watch their antics.

At this point in the summer, the hummingbirds are still fighting, filling the air space with their chirps and squeaks and the whir of little wings, moving very fast. But sometimes, like this time, you get a moment of peace, where two birds actually share the feeder without attacking each other.

The one on the left is a female ruby-throated hummingbird. The one on the right is a male, with its red gorget. I thought they looked like a pair of famous lovers sitting there. What shall it be? Bonnie and Clyde? Or Bogie and Bacall?  :-)

My soundtrack song has to be this one: Key Largo, by Bertie Higgins. I'm also including the wonderful clip from To Have and Have Not: "You know how to whistle, don't you, Steve? You just put your lips together and . . . blow."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.