California Vacation ...

... day 2. 

After a good night’s sleep we woke up ready for our first full day here at my mom’s.  One of our favorite places to visit whilst in Southern California is the Oceanside pier.  We knew my mom wouldn’t enjoy it as much as we do and we wanted to spend some time there so Richard and I headed out to the beach after breakfast.  R had done some research of other public beaches in the area and before going to Oceanside we checked out a place in Carlsbad, Ca first.  The first thing I saw when arriving at this beach was “Yoga Man” … bottom right photo!  Only in California! 


There was a cool rock jetty that I wanted to walk out on but didn’t want to risk falling on our first day of vacation … I chickened out!  The rocks were flat enough but with lots of large gaps in between … it just wasn’t worth the risk.

We didn’t stay here long before heading up the Oceanside pier.  The weather was beautiful with lots of sunshine and a nice breeze … not surprising for So Cal.  We saw lots of surfers, people enjoying the beach, pelicans (see Extra photo) and other sea birds.  It was lovely.  We even grabbed some lunch to eat overlooking the ocean. 


On the way back to mom’s we stopped at a few stores … I was looking for a small cake as today is my mom’s 85th birthday!  The party is scheduled for Saturday  but today is her actual birthday.  We didn’t find any cake but did buy some sugar free ice cream. We treated her to supper out and then relaxed for the rest of the day.  Sugar free cherry pie (which she bought with me in mind) and ice cream (also sugar free!) were also enjoyed.

Backblipped: July 24, 2022 … yes, JULY!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.