Occasional Blipper

By GetYourBootsOn

Mi Hermosa Esposa

My wife and I (Caroline) were sat outside having a coffee this morning and I had my camera fitted with what is probably my fav lens, the 50mm f1.4 Summilux. She often sees me fiddling with cameras and takes no heed, she was texting  so I asked her to look up and grabbed this shot, she'll probably kill me for blipping it :-)

This was it wide open and quite close to its closest focus point. With the bright sunlight I was lucky to stretch to fully open but a 4000th shutter just managed to keep the exposure in. At that distance and aperture the focal plane is pretty thin so I focused on the rims of her glasses and you can see how everything else in the background melts away, all done by the glass and nothing in editing. Apart from its bomb-proof build and tiny size, this is why I love this lens, the isolation it can achieve has me hooked.
I usually set my cameras to raw + jpeg and set the jpeg to be mono so I get an instant compare. Although the light was nice and background colours were ok, today I thought I'd go for mono.

Now here's a question for all you long time Blippers, is Mono Monday an actual weekly thing on here or just sometimes? I've checked the forums back can't find a definitive answer, looks like it might have been for a while but isn't so regular now? Thanks

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.