No grubs, no grub

Cattle poo fodder/fuel. I was actually thinking fuel when I noticed two very neat cow pats on Knighton heath. Back in the day, which could be anytime again soon, with the increase in energy prices, cow pats were used as fuel to cook/ heat your stone hut  up on Dartmoor. The loss of livestock grazing the land since the foot & mouth epidemic, means a loss of food source for many bird species. Sad but true. I notice as I walk the heath on a regular basis that many of the pats have been visited, the remnants scattered about, & there are more bird species than I have actually spotted or heard up on the heath but not in the numbers of years gone by. There are 7 cattle grazing this patch of heath for the Summer months, 5 on another section, both herds removed in October.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.