PandaPics

By pandammonium

Flowers!

I brought Sammy into the living room for a little while a little while ago (Did you have fun parsing that?) because of the dreaded fungus gnats. After a little while, the spaces between the ants were covered in tiny little flies.

Sammy has since grown more tendrils, which is exciting, but even more exciting is that it sent a great big long, relatively thick shoot up and up, then grew some blobs on the end. The blobs could have turned into tendrils, like the others, but they didn’t: they turned into these delicate little flowers! So beautiful.

If I’d have got a Venus flytrap, I’d have to cut the flowers off because they weaken the plant, according to the care instructions I got. But Sammy is a sundew, so I can leave them be. I am thrilled Sammy has flowered!

The really long flower stem made me think: Sammy catches creepy-crawlies for food,* but catching its own pollinators would be foolish. Hence, Sammy’s flower stem is really long to keep the pollinators away from its sticky tendrils.


* Sammy also catches cat hairs, but, as cat servants owners will know, cat hairs get everywhere, so this is inevitable and unavoidable.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.