My Restless Lens

By terri365

The Wall

I have been walking passed the walled garden a lot lately and no-one at the Cambusbarron Community Development Trust has replied to the email I sent a few weeks ago now outlining my concerns a bout the wall.  This is one of the better bits!

A wall like this has 2 layers of brickwork tied together and there should be a coping stone to stop water ingress in between the 2 leaves of brick.  There is very little pointing left which isn't helping.  Water gets into these bits, expands when it freezes and forces the brick out.  If water gets into the brick itself it starts flaking and splits the brick making it fail.

Anyway, it makes for an interesting shot...

Busy day.  Walked the pooch, took my car to the garage for an MOT, answered a couple of emails, drove out to Denovan Road to site to meet 2 engineers, the client and a man with a digger!  Spent nearly 3 hours on site going up and down the hill - which is steep and seemed to get steeper every time I climbed it!

Phone call to say my car needed a couple of things and it would be £210 to sort - the cheapest MOT ever!  My car is 13 years old, I have had it since new and I have done 237,098 miles in it!  I started looking at second hand cars about this time last year and I wasn't quick enough in deciding what I wanted and then prices rocketed so I decided to hang onto my little bus.  I am so glad it is not costing me much!

Back home, a bit of work, afternoon dog walk then hoovered the house!  And washed the floors...  Now sitting with my feet up ready to watch DB Cooper: Where Are You on Netflix.  Might have a wee glass of vino...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.