Chrysler Building...

Day 10...

We went round to Times Square for breakfast this morning. There was enough French toast on my plate to feed an army! After breakfast we went on the subway (successfully) to the Guggenheim Museum... another gorgeous building but the art pretty much left me cold. I'm just not getting it... some of the pieces I could have done! Spraying paint out of a toy car for example? What's that all about? I'd like to photograph it when there is no-one in it spoiling my shots.

We walked back down Madison Avenue to Bloomingdales and after that we took a cab back over to the Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum so Dad could go for a wander round there. Mum and I came home and took the weight off for a while.

We went to De Ciro's for dinner, Giacomo has good taste in restaurants. The pizzas are amazing! I wanted to wait until it was dark before going up the Empire State Building so that I could get a clear shot of the Chrysler Building but you really need a tripod and they don't allow them so this probably isn't as sharp as it could be.

We paid the extra $17 to go up to the 102nd floor... well to go all that way and not go right to the top would be a bit of a waste really. Only the 102nd floor is enclosed and the windows need a wash I'm not volunteering for that job and they are blowing heat in which, coupled with the height of the building made me feel a bit queasy so it was a fairly rapid visit. Another ticked off the list but having done the Top of the Rock already, I'd say that was my preference out of the two.

The walk back home through Times Square showed my folks just how much light there is, given that they're promoting energy saving light bulbs in the ESB, it seems a little contradictory.

Now we're home, it's 1am and there's a party going on downstairs. I'll sleep like the dead but I fear it may be a long night for my parents.

Week Two

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.