Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Mussel Burgh what's in a name?

I've often noticed this fine piece of sculpture as I've driven into Musselburgh but I've never stopped until today. It's beautiful, the back view which is my extra is almost more spectacular. It reflects the sea and the sky and somehow manages to replicate the appearance of the mother of pearl of the inside of the shell. Created in 2010 by Michael Johnson it's well worth a look.
After church this morning we had to head down to Portobello to pick up some light diffusers for the hall. We decided to press on to Musselburgh and pick up some fish for dinner.
We parked at Fisherrow Harbour to go to the fish shop and decided to pick up a couple of rolls from the cafe and then wander back to see the Mussel. The rolls were freshly made to order and rather tasty. We sat on a bench to eat them and enjoyed the view. There were several energetic young folks jumping off the harbour wall into the water and a couple of others swimming nearby including one young woman, braver than I, who hadn't brought her swimsuit! Nobody seemed to notice though, or if they did, didn't bother. It was lovely to see the beach in use, lots of children and families. I was impressed by two very good examples of firm and effective parenting.
We wandered along to the mussel picking up a couple of pieces of sea glass on the way, then back to the car via the fish shop.
Back home I went for a lie down. I'm really tired still and have a most irritating deep cough which I find myself having to apologise for all the time. I don't think it's covid related and in fact I tested myself just to be sure. Negative of course, it's only 4 weeks since I tested negative after my bout but it was reassuring.
I did some gardening and rose pruning to take some of the longer branches off the standard roses. I always worry that they might break. I found I needed to eat some of the raspberries too so that they didn't go to waste. Delicious.
We didn't end up having the fish for dinner as I'd forgotten I'd bought some Indian dishes from Tesco which needed to be eaten, so the fish can be a treat for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.