TR's at Twelve O'Clock

It was the first time this year for me up to the airfield. New hangers and cafés and a bright orange helicopter. When I raised aesthetic concerns about its colour my pals pointed out that a pale blue coloured one might not be too visible in the sky. Anyway...

... as we were sitting eating our beans on toast we noticed that a steady stream of Triumph TR sports cars were driving past us and round to the other side of the airfield. We could see a group of them assembling in the distance so we pedalled round to explore. It turned out that this is part of the round Britain tour of the TR club. 

There were some fine examples on display. In particular the 1953 TR2 in the extra has some rare provenance. It is the first ever right hand drive model made. The first one off the production line was a left hander for the American market. This one was bought by the TR register and restored and is owned by them. I like the idea of a car being mutually owned by a group of enthusiasts.

To my eye the best looking one was this TR4A with overdrive and wire wheels. I thought that it's owner, Paul Richardson, looked authentic with his cap and 'tash. 

My cycling pal, Ron has got a similar one in pieces in a garage. One day he will get round to restoring it. Come on Ron. Get cracking!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.