PandaPics

By pandammonium

Wordle

You’ve probably heard of Wordle by now. If not, where have you been?!

It’s a puzzle where you get six chances to guess a preselected five-letter word; each guess is marked according to whether the right letters are in the right place or the wrong place or absent altogether.

I usually get it in four guesses. My streak was 90, then got reset to zero, which is annoying because I was so close to 100. I haven’t got it back to where it should be because I actually forget to do it now and again.

Anyway, I popped into Ely to pick up Invisible Women by Caroline Criado-Perez. While I was in Ely, I thought I’d have a look in The Works. I found The Guardian has released a book of its cryptic crosswords; I’ve been wanting this sort of thing for yonks, so I got it, along with a recipe book that I may or may not use.

While in The Works – this is where the first three paragraphs become relevant – I saw a book of Wordle puzzles. Then I saw a book beside it of puzzles inspired by Wordle. Then I saw a book on top of more puzzles inspired by Wordle. Someone is clearly hoping the Wordle trend will continue till the end of time.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.