PandaPics

By pandammonium

Femina by Janina Ramirez

Yesterday, I was browsing Twitter, when I saw one of Susie Dent’s tweets that said that Femina by Janina Ramirez ‘really is a wonderful read, as well as an important one.’

Having been recently recommended Invisible Women by Caroline Criado-Perez by not one but two blippers on my recent rant about women being treated as ‘other’, it seemed fitting to learn about the Middle Ages ‘through the eyes of the women written out of’ its history.

I ordered it from the lovely Toppings bookshop, even though it was cheaper on Amazon, and ordered Invisible Women while I was at it. I got an email almost straight away to say Femina was ready for collection.

I went to Ely today to collect Femina (no, of course I couldn’t resist buying another book while I was in there) and a lightbulb and a multipack of ~2” (~5 cm, ~50 mm) lightweight aluminium carabiners.

I got the book and the bulb, the latter from Wilko, of course. I could have bought multiple packs of variously sized single carabiners or a multipack of 50 mm steel carabiners, but there is not a single multipack of ~2” aluminium carabiners in the whole of the Isle of Ely. I will try Cambridge next week.

Update: There was a bee on my sunflower when I got back. It’s gratifying to know that my efforts have helped a bee :)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.