More Heat....

It seems like the whole world is in the midst of a heatwave, the Pacific NW is no exception. Although it was only 93F/33.8C today...tomorrow and Saturday much warmer, but finally there will be some cooling on Monday. It seems like an eternity from now! 

I was supposed to teach a workshop Saturday morning "Sensory Elements in the Garden"...but it's going to be too hot. So it will be rescheduled. 

I've been experimenting with Teff flour...it's a heritage grain from Ethiopia and it's very, very good for your tummy. With IBS brought on by a bout with Lyme Disease, I'm always trying to figure out ways to support my digestion. A friend told me about The Happy Tummy Co., well, specifically about the 48 Hour Soaked Teff Scones. The owner, Karen, is Irish and her bakery is located in Westport, Ireland so I couldn't buy her products. So I decided to try baking them and I am SO hooked on making these, and Teff Pecan Loaf. It's amazing to even eat bread again. I also decided to sign up for her on line course "Bread for Digestive Health" so have been researching all sorts of grains and flours. I'm really excited about this!  At any rate, I started another round of dough fermenting for the scones today, and made a loaf of Teff Pecan. Even my husband is loving these ;-) 

I did get out for a walk first thing and found this Rose of Sharon Hibiscus syriacus in full bloom glowing in the early morning sun. Then I had to take my car in for yet another flat tire....a big fat nail. It costs a fortune to replace the tire but it's good that it's safe now. 

Hope it's cool and comfy where you are!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.