Living my dream

By Mima

Bortons Pond

I was fairly surprised to find no signs of flooding at Bortons Pond this afternoon. The Waitaki River is on its way down but still very high, so I guess at its height the inflow into the Pond was shut off and all the outflows opened wide.

We had our usual wonderful walk there and saw just one couple in their car who drove round and left without stopping. Weird.

The reflections and wind riffles held my attention for a long time, while Bean paddled off-camera.

The ground at home is still far too wet to walk on, let alone garden. However I think I’ll be able to venture into the fruit cage tomorrow without doing any damage. The raspberry canes need pruning and tying back in.

It looks as though the next deluge is going to miss us, but poor Chchch may be in the direct firing line. Hold tight up there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.