Market

It’s Saturday: supermarket shopping was followed by some errands in Wimbledon and, later in the afternoon, a walk to the large Next store. We wandered the Home section with no intention of buying anything but getting lots of inspiration and then into the clothes section where we both bought a few summer items. I am not sure I have bought many clothes during the last two years and I currently have a ton of things that don’t fit me anymore. We had a discount voucher which was useful but, in hindsight, might have been more useful when we come to some bigger purchases later in the year.

In Wimbledon the little was out in the centre with lies if bunting. I don’t think it’s a big leap to assume the red, white and blue is part of the Jubilee celebrations. 

This evening we settled in to watch the BBC’s coverage of the Platinum Party At The Palace, coming from a stage that’s been erected right in front of Buckingham Palace.  The show was opening by Queen + Adam Lambert, which was nice to see ahead of the gig we’re going to shortly, with several hours of pop stars performing to entertain the nation. I thought the Lloyd Webber and Lin-Manuel Miranda section seemed a bit odd, especially the excerpt from Hamilton. The show ended with Diana Ross’ first UK live performance in 15 years. 

It was nice to see Kirsty Young back on the television as host of the event. She has a remarkably calming presence and, whenever she’s on TV, I tell the story of when I told STV producers to gather to speak up. Quite rightly, they ignored me.

The Queen herself wasn’t seen live but there was a lovely piece at the start where she had Paddington Bear for tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.