Grey Heron

MrsD came with me this morning. There was no sign of the young one this morning, only the older female and the youngest one. The older female chased the youngest one off when it flew down to the viewing platform. After feeding the older female I made my way to the clearing which is the youngest one's territory. The youngest one was waiting there so I started feeding it. The older female was about to land but the youngest one chased her off. They really defend their territory,  it is the first time MrsD has seen this behaviour.  This afternoon the older female flew over followed by the young one. I had a little whitebait and pollock for her and sardine for the older female. The young one ate all the whitebait along with some pollock. She even had a Sardine head before flying off.
It will be interesting to see if she appears tomorrow morning as the work around the loch stops at the weekend.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.