Grey Heron

The older female was the only one around this morning and followed me all the way round the loch she basically got a whole rainbow trout I picked up cheap for a quick sale. This afternoon the young one flew from the drainage area to meet me. She had some whitebait (tomorrow will see the last of it) but ate a lot of pollock and even had a bit of sardine. The older female joined us and had a good bit of Sardine. We were surrounded by about 5 crows who were not really interested in dog biscuits when fish was on the go. The young one walked over to a high hedge  which meant that the crows could not get behind her and as most were reluctant to face two Herons they started searching out the dog biscuits. I never cease to be amazed at how clever these birds are. When I was finished they both flew back to the loch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.