Grey Heron

I saw the whole gang today at different times. This morning the young one and the older female both flew over to the gate. The older female is much more confident when she is with the young one and strangely it was last Sunday the young one appeared in the morning rather than after lunch. They both had a feed of pollock and sardine. The young one also got the last of the whitebait. Like yesterday they both had everything I had! The young one knows the routine and when I put the food box back into my bag she flew back to the loch. The older female however came "running" after me. When I made my way up the hill she flew after me much to the bemusement of an old lady walking her dog. Eventually a gull chased the heron and she flew back to the loch. This afternoon the older female was waiting for me at the edge of the loch. I gave her some sardines then headed off towards the clearing. I heard the male, he nearly always calls to let me know he is there. He was a bit further up from the clearing but it let him get closer. As I was feeding him another heron landed on a branch of a tree behind him. I at first thought it was the older female but it didn't look like her and would have been way out of her territory. The youngest one landed as well and I just managed to feed it before the male and the new (female I think) chased it. I divided the little remaining fish between the three of them and headed home.
The extra is the older female running after me, with a crow in the background hunting out the biscuits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.