Through Darkness Into Light

The scene: a tunnel under the hill, leading from one side of the reservoir to the other. My husband and I had stopped for a hike in the late afternoon at the reservoir on the long hill up the Seven Mountains, after a day of family events.

The day: a heartbreakingly beautiful spring day, all sun and blue sky, every flowering tree in full bloom. A jewel in the middle of a string of several such days. What a blessing for us, after a long winter. We are like creatures of darkness emerging into the light. Blinking, smiling, our eyes adjusting to the light.

The occasion: a sad one, alas. My brother's wife's mom had passed away earlier in the week, after a battle with Alzheimer's. We went home for the funeral, which was held in a small, lovely, rural church with beautiful stained glass windows. We also visited with my parents, age 82. My husband, my oldest sister, and I rode along to the funeral with my father; my mother, who was suffering the effects of a pretty bad spring cold, stayed home. It was a sad occasion, but at the same time a beautiful day. The preacher talked about about the long walk through the valley of the shadow; about the light waiting for us at the other side of that long, dark valley. I especially enjoyed the hymns we sang: Amazing Grace, I Come to the Garden Alone, Go Tell It On the Mountain. Beloved songs, full of grace.

Highlights of the day: spending time with family, seeing my parents, singing some lovely hymns, being present for the day of the first hummingbird's return to my parents' home, having a nice lunch from the local soft-serve ice cream stop, spending a few of the last hours of daylight enjoying the sun on the water at the reservoir.

The soundtrack: the first song that we sang at the service for my sister-in-law's mother, Amazing Grace. In this performance: LeAnn Rimes. Couldn't pick between the two, so here is a bonus: a second version of Amazing Grace, performed by Emmylou Harris and LadySmith Black Mombazo.

Next up: the next photo I post will be my 500th blip. Hoping for a good blip-day for Saturday; be sure to check back! :-)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.