Flossmo

By Flossmo

Reduction linocutting

Yesterday was a long day so a belated blip.

The second day of the lino workshop was very enjoyable. The purpose of the workshop was to explore printing a reduction linocut with inks made from a water compatible base (Akua transparent base) mixed with watercolour paint. The resulting inks were nice with a soft look but it did take me a few goes to get used to using them. We also had a few different papers to try out and the choice of hand burnishing or using a book press but it did make experimentation more difficult - only alter one variable at a time, I was taught. The blip shows the eight prints that I made. It was a great learning experience.

The drive home was not too bad. It was quite busy and there were a few slow patches but nothing unendurable. I just felt sorry for the few breakdowns I saw and one fender bender. And for the motorway traffic police, who must dread Friday evenings. 

Mr Flossmo seemed happy to see me, Sky less so; I guess I have to endure my punishment. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.