GracieG

By GracieG

Broad Beans or Has-beens

My blip photo today is not really the subject of my narrative.  However, I liked this view and it's much more pleasing than the extra which matches the title of my entry today.

B and I did our local walk from our homes to Letheringsett Mill (our coffee stop) and back.  The field in the extra was looking lovely a few weeks ago when this crop of broad beans were in flower.  It now looks shocking!  I'm no expert on crops but I do know what a healthy broad bean looks like and there are just a very few plants along each side of the footpath through the crop that are healthy and have green bean pods.  The rest of the entire crop (and it's a very large field) have shriveled up and gone brown.  I presume this is from the intense heat and lack of water.  I really feel for the farmer.

NB: my fellow blippers have said that it’s intentional for the crop to dry out, it’s used for animal fodder and also to return nitrogen to the soil…so not a farming disaster after all.

We had some very gentle rain this morning on our walk but it barely dampened the pavement and it certainly wasn't worth getting our waterproofs on.  The forecast is for some rain tomorrow, it can't come soon enough.  I can't even remember when we last had a decent amount of rain here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.