League

Today was Bonnyrigg Rose's first ever game in the Scottish Football League, and I'd planned to run/Turf to Bonnyrigg before the match. However, Mum was feeling unwell, so I took a bus into Edinburgh. After she'd eaten the lunch that I prepared for her, she was a lot brighter, so I had time to take a bus to Bonnyrigg. Indeed, when I go there I had time to take seven Turf zones before the match. But only just, as I was still queuing to get in as kick-off time approached. Fortunately, a steward spotted my season ticket, and advanced me into the ground.

The game was entertaining, with Rose very much better than Forfar. At this level of football, you're so close to the action that, when a clearance hit one of the Bonnyrigg players at point blank range in the one area of the body you don't want to be hit, we could hear him groaning on the floor as the pain subsided. It's also possible to walk around most of the pitch, and I spent most of the second half in the shade behind the Forfar goal. Eventually a chance went in - through the hands and legs of the keeper. The local boys behind the goal kept up a steady stream of "banter", and you knew that the Forfar keeper heard every word! 1-0 is never a comfortable scoreline, which kept the game interesting until the 86th minute, when a fine solo move on the left ended just in front of me with a shot into the top right corner of the net.

East Fife is also in Rose's league, but I can't see them scoring four, or Forfar five against us...

Afterwards, I got my running done, as I returned home on foot. After a couple of kilometres I realised that I'd get too hot running continuously, so I alternated kilometres of running and walking. I was pleased to manage three separate kilometres in 5:05-5:15, so believe that I'm still capable of running!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.