butterflies

I want to do Silly Saturday AND I want to share with you this picture I took today. 

Silly Saturday is in the extras. A week ago my neighbor saw a mouse on the retaining wall. I looked at the back of the wall and saw 50 holes. I bought Grampa Gus mouse repellent. Today I walked on the wall while holding on to the fence above it, which is weird in some spots because the fence leans in when the new president of the housing association walked by with his friends. I looked odd - or my behavior seemed odd so he asked what was up. He did not know the complex was infested, although he himself has had a mouse infestation. He didn't know everyone else had or has one. He agreed with me that those holes looked like great homes. The back now smells of cinnamon and peppermint. 

The extra is of one of those holes. You see the nails? I think you're in serious trouble when the mice are using nails. 

I went back to the park where I had birthday breakfast and took pictures of butterflies! This is the bee balm that was so striking I bought one for my front "yard." On my way back I lucked out and saw two butterflies enjoying them for a few minutes.  

A 7-year-old black bear named Malvina was evacuated from Ukraine to a protection center in Germany. Malvina had been living in a private zoo in Eastern Ukraine until the invasion began, when she was transported to White Rock Bear Shelter in the Ukrainian capital of Kyiv. From there, on March 16, Malvina and several other black bears were transported by the Animal Protection Association of Schleswig-Holstein to Germany. She's now living in much better conditions than before the war. 

The first Ukrainian ship is preparing to depart after the UN/Turkey/Ukraine/Russia deal to allow the export of grain. 

Russian tourists are still going to Finland. Many Finns are unhappy with this. Finland is the only EU neighbor to grant tourist visas to Russian citizens. Finland's opposition party is proposing a halt to the visas. There is widespread support. 

There is regular footage of Ukrainian tractors pulling Russian tanks. Someone even made a simple video game of it. Farmers donate their tanks or other Russian vehicles to the military. Ukrainian farmers have commandeered so many vehicles that people have been calling them Europes "fifth-largest army." Now they are getting .... a stamp! There was a three hour wait because the line was so long to buy them.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.