HalfwayUpAHill

By HalfwayUpAHill

My first proper camera

I went into the loft recently and retrieved my first proper camera - I was given this in 1979 at the age of 11, spent months learning to use it and going through lots of trial and error (and for a long time the results were 75% bad and 25% good). I used it pretty much continuously from 1979 until 2004.

This camera has been halfway round the world with me - it's been used on deserts, beaches, at student parties, weddings and family birthdays, in the rain and snow, up mountains ... it's got bits of dust permanently ingrained and a big dent in the filter mounting ring on the lens where I once dropped it on a stone floor.

It still works perfectly and I also have the original zoom lens and flash unit which I saved up for when I was a teenager. Now I am tempted buy a 35mm film to give it another go ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.