Tombstone of James Borthwick

We were very surprised this morning to discover that our weekend guests had never heard of Greyfriar's Bobby. This necessitated a pilgrimage to his statue, and then to the Greyfriars Church graveyard. I could have photographed the hound's tombstone, but this one, which belongs to James Borthwick - the first accredited teacher of anatomy in Britain - is far more interesting.

Afterwards Mr hazelh and I visited the Vikings exhibition at the National Museum of Scotland while the guests headed off to the zoo to see the pandas, the most famous modern day animal inhabitants of Edinburgh (oh, apart from Brock!)

Thank you to everyone who has checked out my photo of the morning fog in the Meadows on the Edinburgh Outdoors photography competition finalists page. I currently have 49 votes, which puts me fourth in the ranking after 143, 104, and 61 votes for the three photographs ahead of mine. I don't know when the public vote closes, but I hope that my picture might climb the charts and overtake the others before then ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.