School memorabilia

My Facebook news stream has been dominated today by school friends who have been busy sharing photographs of items of school uniform retrieved from parents' attics, the regulation school uniform list (includes brown gloves only), the school rules (no speaking when walking to prayers from the form rooms, nor on the way back again), and our former selves. I have added to this with a few contributions of my own, including this ticket to a school disco from 1977. Because it gives the date, I was able to cross reference it to my teenage diary, which reads as follows:

"Went to school disco which was very good. I danced with Iain Wilson and a boy called Andrew or Stephen. Cherith and Anne were paired off with a funny pair... Romaine complained about words illegible ".

One of the "funny pair" actually ended up marrying another school friend. She'll be amused to hear of my first impressions of her future husband.

Exercise today: I thought I would take a day off exercise today. However, from a distance of 100 miles at home in Northumberland my friend K shamed me into a 4.5 mile run to Leith and back along the cycle paths. My time was not good: 49'31". My PB on this route is 46'06".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.