Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Through The Middle

For some reason I’ve lost my walking mojo in recent days/weeks. Not like me at all. I pushed myself this evening, though. I had a quick errand and afterwards I stopped here for a walk though this field. It’s a beautiful place to walk when there’s a decent sunset and I’ve blipped it numerous times.
Here
And here
And here!

There was very little colour tonight but I like the contrast of the dark sky with the newly harvested crop. I wonder if they cut it early, as I know some farmers are doing - it’s been SO dry. We are in desperate need of rain and those dark clouds left NOTHING! The sun was actually shining most of the day without a cloud in the sky. It was beautiful but with not the slightest breeze I found it too hot, although nothing like our super hot days recently. I was happy when the clouds gathered and it was cooler in the evening.

For those of you who don’t live in the UK, public footpaths or bridleways like these are historic and protected rights of way for pedestrians (and horses, in the case of bridleways!). The farmers HAVE to keep the paths clear and accessible at all times, even when they cut through the middle of a field as this one does. They plant the fields with this in mind. It’s one of the things I love about living here the most, how accessible the countryside is. Those who are from the UK don’t always realise how unique this is!

In the UK there are:
140,000 miles (225,000 km) of footpaths
20,000 miles (32,000 km) of bridleways
16,000 miles (26,000 km) of National Cycle Network (far, far less than most of our European neighbours).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.