Iconic

I was back in Clifton today. I stopped there for an errand then bought a sandwich and ate it in the Mall Gardens - a long thin strip of gardens between two leafy residential streets. I caught sight of this beautiful iconic VW Campervan in front of some of these historic houses. I love the balconies!

The main purpose of my outing though was to cross Clifton Suspension Bridge and then walk down through Leigh Woods (National Trust) on the other side. See Extra photo. The view of the Avon Gorge is stunning from the bridge!

When I walked over I found a pretty church and sat there for awhile - it was a hot day and I needed some shade! From there I made my way through opulent houses to the entrance of Leigh Woods. The woodland covers a large area and I must go back another day to explore it properly. Today I just took the simple and most straightforward path down to the bottom of the gorge. I have to say I was glad I was walking downhill and was impressed by several runners passing me - navigating uneven ground AND a steep incline! I found a geocache on the way which is always an extra bonus!

I returned to the campsite by walking along the river, enjoying more views of the bridge and the gorge. The bottom middle picture shows the hotel with outside terrace where I had dinner a couple of weeks ago (blip 14 July). I saw climbers scaling the cliff-face, looking like tiny spiders!

I got back just before the rain started. I was exhausted and it was an early night for me. 18,000 steps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.