Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Blackthorn Blossom

This is Blackthorn blossom, Prunus spinosa, often confused with Hawthorn blossom, Crataegus, which does not come out until May. I have several of these shrubs around my garden and also a lot opposite my house, which I think I will blip later this week, to show the changes in my 'one street'. This picture also shows some yellow Lichen Xanthoria parietina, which is very common.

A typical April day today, sunshine and showers. I attempted to weed two front flower borders this morning and although you can see the difference, they are not perfect as the rain kept making everything very wet. In the end I gave up and did some work instead.



Random Fact of the Day - Looks Like Size Really Does Matter
Uh-Oh Guys, it seems to be true: women do prefer well-endowed men!
New Scientist - 13 April 2013 - Page 15 (No offence intended to anyone)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.