TWO DAYS AGO

this beetle lay for dead on the table. Legs up! I turned the poor creature and to my surprise after some time she had disappeared. But later she lay on the windowsill again feet up. I turned her and thought now she is really dead. No legs or arms to be seen. She disappeared after some time. I figured she wanted to go outside, I thought she had fled through the open door.
This afternoon I heard a plog against the window and look there she was again. I put her softly on the table. Dead now? But no, she recovered and this time I took her outside, made some pictures in the rain, umbrella up. Then I set her upon a plant, wished her well this female golden stag beetle.
In the morning it rained too and this will be a waterdrop day I thought.

My haiku:

She slept all winter
Hidden in the dark corner
En route now farewell

And the proverb:

Het is een engel met een B ervoor. (Dat is een bengel)

Literal translation: It is an angel with a B in front of it.
This would not do of course. Bengel means little scamp, naught boy.

Het Spreekwoordenboek van Harrebomée appears to be the Third Part only, that makes clear that I never could sell it in my bookshop. It is in some way hilarious reading, so many issues at stake for the poor man.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.