Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

At the Crossroads

Lake Ballard Salt People
This is the first opportunity I have had to post my journal from Lake Ballard and the “Salt People”.  It was the most incredible experience and I have posted this particular image because I really feel that it is a metaphor for where the world finds itself at the moment.  We are at the crossroads and if we don’t take the right turn we may well end up like the Salt People.  I think the British Sculptor Sir Antony Gormley was trying to give us a very serious message when he created the 51 sculptures.  Here is a link to how they came to be standing so eerily on Lake Ballard

We camped right by the side of Lake Ballard and were looking out at the Lake as the sunset in the West.  I will never forget my visit here it has been life changing.  
You may find it hard to recognise us but way down there Mauzee and I are standing within a few metres of one of the Salt People and we were reflecting on how blessed we are to have been able to visit this amazing area.

I have posted a couple of extras

tonight we are still in Wangkathaa Country

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.