pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Home

It is not without a small degree of sadness that I left the home that had been my temporary lodgings for the last two nights.

I had been waited on hand and foot in the most glorious of English countryside and felt happy and relaxed, but home was calling with news that chores required completing before the return of the wee ones tomorrow.

Si and I wolfed our vegan breakfast taking time for one last look at the view over the fields and then jumping into our cars for the long drive home. We were driving the same route before he had to veer off for Wales, so we stopped at the Toll services for a comfort break and sugar hit before carrying on our merry way up a busy and stop/starty M6.

I had one last stop that I wanted to make if time allowed, which it did, and so I popped to the seaside to see Lady V. The sun was shining brightly and despite a stiff breeze, it was still warm enough for shirt sleeves, so we popped to the local cafe for a “posh” ice cream and a stroll along the prom whilst catching up on our week’s news.

I tore myself away to head for home where priorities clashed between chores and the watching the Lionesses. Fortunately, I was able to fuse both and sort the washing out in front of the box to witness their famous victory over Germany. True to form I found a little water leaking from eyes at witnessing England’s first ever major tournament win in my lifetime, something which I was seriously starting to doubt would ever happen.

Lady V had already been informed that spending a couple of hours with her at the end of unexpectedly fantastic week was the cherry on the icing on the cake, so I guess the Lionesses win would be the sprinkles.

It’s good to be home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.