pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Revenge

The wee ones were back with me today! 

They’d clearly had a good week away and a few late nights as they were shattered and didn’t really want to do much. 

Still, we managed a trip to the Aldi wonderland and some bargain books from the neighbouring charity shop in the morning. We needed a good lunch inside us for the afternoon’s activity which was a round of mini golf at Brockhole in Windermere.

Not just any round of mini golf though…this was the long awaited return bout between me and Simmo’s youngest (the others were there too, but it was personal between me and her as she’d trounced me last time). Despite my two being a little pickley, we had fun and far more importantly, following my last outing on a golf course, I had a point to prove, so I was proud of the fact that a) I held onto my club at all times and b) I had my revenge in a famous victory over a 14 year-old which will be talked about through the ages - mainly by me.

We’d all earned an ice cream which we slurped and munched on the walk round before letting the wee ones and Simmo’s youngest loose on the large playground, giving me and Simmo a little time to catch up.

I was feeling the burn too as we made our way home so was glad to accept an invitation to a shepherd’s pie dinner courtesy of my sister.

A nice end to the day and a really nice start to August!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.