31 hour day

The day started as it went on, eating and drinking too much and at odd times of the day.

The first flight to Doha was a 777 and a QSuite. They have a door so it is very private. I was in a 4  in the figure which can be opened up if you are travelling as a pair of a group. I was going backwards, not that you felt that. Slept for a good couple of hours. I didn't watch any movies. Breakfast was ok. Tea was good.

We'd left late so we're slightly late landing at Doha around dawn. It was very hazy and very hot (34 at 6 am) in Doha. And it was a very long walk into the centre of the terminal and yellow bear. Getting a photo of the Qatar 2022:sign without people was impossible. Spent over an hour in the huge Busines lounge. I'd only been there once before, 5 years ago?  Then a slightly shorter trek to the gate for flight 2.

This was an A350 and I had a windowseat. We sat on the tarmac for ages so we're about an hour taking off but we're only 20 minutes late arriving. The woman opposite from me had  come from Auckland. She already been travelling for about 23: hours. Watched a couple of movies, not a great selection: Operation Mincemeat which had everyone who was everyone in it and the one with Nicholas Cage playing himself, which was good fun..

The usual long walk to International arrivals, it is very poor, but didn't take too long to get through the e-gates at the Border. Bags came, hurray, and home 1 hour after landing. 

The garden will need some work but I sat in the sun and made a couple of phone calls. I was going to stay up till a decent bedtime but by 5.30 I decided it was time to give. The plumbing work hadn't been done so I'm surrounded by toiletries . Much sorting and tidying to be done, but not today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.