The Lionesses' Legacy

A coincidence of course but one which has got me thinking. Following the England Lionesses' win over Germany in the final of the Euros on Sunday evening, Ollie dog (real name Ola and she's a girl) has taken up football. 

Not long after she came to live with us in 2018 I blipped her meeting my football-mad grandson for the first time. I had bought her a football and thought that she would enjoy playing with him but she wasn't interested. A comment from hic at the time, Seems Ollie dog never learned to play was probably correct as she had been a breeding bitch who had lived in a concrete-floored kennel. The ball has languished in the garden ever since and she has shown no interest in it at all over the past four years, although she now loves playing with her tennis-sized balls.

This morning she grabbed and started running with it and I joined in, kicking it for her. It made us so happy.

This got me thinking what a shame it is that the women's game didn't come to the fore in my father's day. He loved the beautiful game and used to play for a local team until he got too busy working on the nursery in order to earn enough to raise his five daughters. I was a bit of a disappointment as I wasn't interested in sport but how wonderful it would have been for him if my extremely sportif sister and/or the others had taken up football. 

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.