A Carlyle in Carlisle

It’s late so just a quick note tonight.  The journey to Carlisle went smoothly but then there was apparently and sadly a fatality on the line further south so all connections further north were cancelled or delayed.  What followed was much messaging between Jen and I as to alternatives including the possibility of her driving to Kilmarnock (!) to collect me. Happily, the Avanti staff at Carlisle were very helpful and I was advised to wait an hour as they were turning trains around at Preston and sending them back, so all was good and I was able to relax with a sandwich and my book on the very pleasant station until the Glasgow train arrived.

Since then we’ve shopped for a delicious stir fry dinner, collected Pete from work and Jenny has given me a walking tour of the village of Lesmahagow and it all looks very good for their move here. I think we might try out the coffee shop if we get plenty done in the morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.