Abel Selaocoe plus

Sona Jobarteh (extra), from a Mandinka Griot family and the first woman in seven centuries to be a professional kora player, was definitely going to be the highlight of my day. In preparation I signed up for a kora-playing workshop first thing this morning, before it was over-subscribed (as it was when I tried to sign up at WOMAD three years ago). I was astonished to discover that all those notes are played with just the thumbs and forefingers; the other six digits idly hold the instrument in place (that extra again - not as good a photo as when I saw her four years ago). I was less astonished to discover that keeping the bass going while picking out a melody on the higher strings is fiendishly complicated.

This afternoon I went to hear her talk about her other passion: educational reform on the African continent. Africans need to learn their own cultures, traditions, languages, histories and geographies. Absolutely. This was at the core of my work for seven years with African publishing, but she is actually out there doing it and everything she makes from her music goes into The Gambia Academy, a small school aiming to show how education can be changed across the continent. This evening I heard her play with her band and instantly got a shock of energy that jolted me out of the extreme headachy fatigue that I've been feeling since yesterday afternoon (I never again want to carry my temporary 19kg home on my back).

I'd also been keen to hear Abel Selaocoe but really hadn't thought I'd have the stamina. But thanks to Sona Jobarteh I did. And, WOW. This isn't the first time he's featured in my journal and I hope it won't be the last - he is an extraordinary musician and the most delightful personality. He was overawed at the number of people who'd turned up to see him at half past midnight and told us that he'd put WOMAD in his diary way back hoping for an invitation and then... he got one! He is extremely accomplished on classical European cello but also uses it as a percussion instrument and adds his remarkable voice. It's all here along with his gift at establishing a rapport with his audience. Such a talent.

(Discovered my lovely nephew is here! We tried to persuade his dad to abandon tasks at home and come and join us but failed.)


Many thanks for all the kindness for yesterday. I'm chuffed to have discovered a way of keeping my blip out of Popular despite all the hearts, but I really do appreciate them - you are the loveliest bunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.