A hare on Catswood Lane, near Stancombe Ash farm

I parked on Catswood Lane near the farm shop in Bisley to have a look across the nearby fields. As I walked back towards my car parked on the verge I saw in the distance an animal sitting in the middle of the road next to some bushes.

I had time to raise my camera and through the lens I could see it was a hare sitting quietly. The it stood up and immediately leaped off towards the bushes as a car came around the bend in the road. I was delighted to see it but I wish I'd had more than a few seconds to watch it before it was disturbed.

I slowly walked up the road wondering whether I might glimpse it in the field beside the road. I had been surprised it had disappeared so quickly as there were stone walls on either side of the road. However when I neared the spot in the road it had sat on I saw that a large plastic pipe had been fitted into the left hand stone wall to allow the passage of animals. On the other side where it had disappeared, I found that under the tree's lowest foliage the stone wall had collapsed to ground level so that there was easy access into the field. The hare obviously used this route to get around its territory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.