Road Closed

Like almost everyone else tightening their belts these days, I am happy to wander further abroad to shop and save the odd penny which is why I decided Lidl was the place to buy my box of laundry sachets today even though I had done no homework on how much if anything I would be saving. I still don’t know but what I do know is, the child proof box I bought was miraculously opened without the need of knives and chisels. The trouble with those qualifying for bus passes is that very often they have thumbs rendered more or less useless by years of usage and find it difficult to open lids and laundry sachet tubs. Such are my thumbs, so that more often than not I have to use ingenious means to open these laundry tubs, a few choice swear words peppering the air. They may be child proof but they are also unfortunately pensioner proof.

I was in ‘clearing the decks’ mood today and filled a rucksack and sports bag with ‘stuff’ to take to the local charity shop. The rucksack got the heave ho too as none of the family seemed to want it. It belonged to HL, I have kept mine, I know not why as for the life of me I can’t imagine my going anywhere with it now. I think we bought them for a camping trip in the Egyptian desert years ago. Perhaps Munroist who was also on the trip can remember if we needed to have them.

The day was rounded off nicely with a get together with LeeAnne- always good company and hopefully she will join us for an early morning Porty dip on Friday.

George Square is now shut to vehicles after 10am for the duration of the Festival. I was returning from Lidl as they pulled the colourful barriers across the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.