The Floral Clock

With a flight to Orkney at the beginning of next month, I felt it was time to have a recce  of Edinburgh airport. Glasgow airport was the last one I was in 5 years ago and I can’t remember when I was last in Edinburgh. A friend and I, who also had never graced its portals for just as long, took the tram there this morning, to have a coffee and see what had been changed because of Covid.

We were not disappointed in the amount of change on offer. I can remember when the airport was based at Turnhouse and it was possible to fly to Glasgow. Yes that long ago! Now it enormous in comparison and crowded with people and huge cases. I was particularly looking for the Loganair booking in desk and was mightily relieved it was tucked in a quiet corner of the concourse. We waded through travellers to whole new additions to the concourse, checking out access to taxi drop off points. We even had a chat with the booking clerk at the deserted Loganair desk.

We managed to find a free table at Costa Coffee at which to have coffee. My recce companion was enjoying herself remembering all the journeys she had made in another life even if the surroundings now felt quite alien to her.

I feel now as though I’ve been on my holidays, at no cost to me and with no  carbon footprint left …..behind this time.

I had time to take a very quick blip of the Floral Clock in Princes Street Gardens before we boarded the tram on the outward journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.