BJH

By BJH

All together again

I had to get up earlier than usual today and had a busy morning getting everything ready for the lunch with my brother who was coming over from Berchem again. The sanctuary closes earlier on Saturdays so I had to leave the house immediately after we'd finished eating. I could only stop at the artificial island for a few minutes but fortunately the swan was standing up when I got there and I was able to see that still none of her eggs had hatched yet. I didn't see the large Mallard family before I had to leave again though.

It had been somewhat chilly but fairly sunny so far but it started to rain the moment I started my walk with Brutus. At the sanctuary they think that Brutus is a Bordeaux dog/Staffordshire cross so he's very strong and looks rather impressive and I felt quite safe in his company to walk past the small pond again. It was a huge relief to see that everything was peaceful this time and that the 3 ducklings had been reunited with their mother. I could always be wrong about this but I think it's a fairly safe bet that she was the female duck that was being attacked by all those males yesterday afternoon. I kept looking around but couldn't spot the man who threw the rock yesterday so I was able to relax a little more after that and enjoy the rest of my walk with Brutus. Fortunately the rain stopped as we were walking away from the pond and it stayed dry the rest of the day.

I could have chosen one of the quick shots I'd taken at the island or one of those I that I took after the walk at the park but I felt I just had to blip this one of the 3 ducklings and their mother, even though some of those other photos were of a better quality.

A big thank you for all your kind words and stars on my Mallard family blip from yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.