BJH

By BJH

There's an elephant on my courtyard!

As on most Sundays I stayed home today. After I'd taken some photos of my birds Mieke and Ozzie and my rabbit Rosie I went onto our courtyard to water the plants and plant up a few more of them. When I opened the door there was a mouse lying dead on the floor. We knew we had at least one around because we'd seen the droppings but we didn't use any poison and only put down a humane trap to try and catch it. The mouse also didn't show any sign of wounds anywhere so I have no idea what might have killed it. It's probably silly of me but I couldn't just throw this dead mouse in the bin. Instead I put into a plastic bag and tomorrow I'm going to bury it under a thick carpet of dead leaves somewhere in the park.

This is not my usual kind of blip but after finding the mouse I felt like posting something funny today and chose a shot of my elephant watering can which I'd put aside until I would need it after I'd finished the planting.

The left side of the window box behind my little elephant was the nesting site of a female Blackbird 2 years ago. I had the rare privilege of seeing her and her mate raise 3 successive broods and watching a total of 8 chicks fledge successfully from our courtyard. Unfortunately they haven't been back since.

Thank you very much for the lovely comments and stars on my Mallard family blip from yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.