Fog this morning

I was woken in the night by what sounded like machinery working on the road up towards the near corner. Went back to bed and ignored it. The sound was still going when I got up for porridge and cryptic. The porridge was good; the cryptic defied me.

Realised as I went to leave that there was fog. Dense fog. Made me glad I was a few minutes earlier than usual, as I anticipated a slow trip. The night noise was explained as I left; workmen were still there, changing the corner where Rimutaka comes off Woodlands Park Road. Thereafter until I was almost at work, the fog necessitated concentration on the road and other vehicles not views.

The right turn from Great North Road into Newton Road had a long queue, and I was stopped close to the corner, with ample time before the green light. This photo was taken through the windscreen. On a normal morning the rising sun would have blinded me just there.

A long and busy work day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.