I had to take a photo of the middle one to

... identify it.  It's a Wall Butterfly and I've never seen one in my garden before, though I have seen them along the East Coast.  I've been trying to log-on to the Big Butterfly Count but I can't and it looks like I’m going to have to register again.  I've been doing it for years, so I don't know what's going on.  All I can say is that they're missing the ones I spotted up on the hillside because I couldn't do it via my phone.
I think there may have been two Wall's but I'm not absolutely certain, one was darker than the other.  There were two Gatekeepers, both male, I think and two small whites (maybe more now).

One of the things I've noticed this year is that the Gatekeepers have arrived just as the Marjoram flowers are almost over - so the impact of our very hot summer doesn't bode well.  There have definitely been a shortage of garden butterflies this year, though lots of Meadow Browns along the field boundary hall way up to Mill Moor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.