A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Then, This Happened

I was up early this morning to beat today’s awful 96F heat index forecast. The more things I could get done by noon, the better. Much to the chagrin of our three felines I was outside before coffee was made, or food was served. I left them all sitting in their usual spots, waiting • Poor Babies • Before loading up feeders and birdbaths I needed to bring in a few items left in the car. On my way back to the house I noticed a large bird overhead and immediately identified it as a Great Blue Heron. Seeing one fly over the house is not an unusual sight because of our proximity to the river. However, what is an unusual sight is seeing one land on top of an evergreen tree in our neighbor’s yard! • I couldn’t believe my eyes! I observed it for a few seconds expecting it to immediately take flight, but then I knew it was worth taking the time to get the camera from the house. I’m glad I did because the heron was still standing on top of the tree when I got back. He casually looked from one side to the other seemingly taking in the surrounding sights before resuming his flight path. To a nest, I presume • I can’t make this stuff up!! It was truly astounding!! MrsP missed it all but she enjoyed the photos • Be Safe & Stay Cool, Everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.